Author Topic: Tweaks  (Read 984 times)

Offline «TcS»Shark®

  • TcS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,453
  • Karma: 136
Tweaks
« on: October 20, 2011, 11:09:05 AM »
As soon as I started it up I was already looking for tweaks.  Mouse smoothing was the first to go.

If you are using steam.. Right click the game and select properties and click the "Set Launch Options" button. add "+set com_allowConsole 1" in the text box.

now you have the in game console.  just press '`' to bring up the console.  "m_smooth 0" will disable mouse smoothing.

Pretty sure you guys already knew this, but figured I would make a post for people searching google for help.

Also if you are using an ATI card, you will probably need the ATI Hotfix for RAGE Which can be found here:
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU121AMDCatRagePerfDriver.aspx

or try this
AMD Catalyst 11.10 Version 3 Preview Driver
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU124AMDCat1110PreDriverV3.aspx


Console Variables (cVars):
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2165723

Config Tweaks
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?p=25524360#post25524360




This is for Google searches...
Rage, Tweaks, Console, mouse smoothing, config, crash, ATI

*updated ATI link to version 3 preview driver.

Offline «TcS»Menace2U®

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,625
  • Karma: 123
Re: Tweaks
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 05:48:49 PM »
yeah Shark... I was having graphic problems with my new GTX570, started to dig around on the web and found some help for my problem...

I didn't have a certain folder... (its cleared up now since I added this folder... game runs fine now)
shame on id for this...
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/328391-33-rage-game-thread-bugs-glitches-fixes

Ok, so first off, Rage is supposed to have a folder created for it in your AppData folder. You need to make sure you have this folder created (manually):

...users\username\appdata\local\id software\rage

Once you create that, as soon as you launch the game you can check it, and there will be a 1gb cache file in there. It helps with performance and texture popping.


This might help too for those still having problems (i haven't tried this since my problem got cleared up)
http://donotargue.com/cfg-makers/rage/


STEAM PROFILE
GAMER FOR LIFE

Offline «TcS»Shark®

  • TcS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,453
  • Karma: 136
Re: Tweaks
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2011, 11:36:35 AM »
cool menace.. I'm gonna try that out.  All the config settings I made makes the game run amazing. except for the mouse in the menu/inventory screens. Do you have a problem with the mouse on those screens?

Offline «TcS»Menace2U®

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,625
  • Karma: 123
Re: Tweaks
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2011, 06:23:58 PM »
No, but I do have a 'graphic line' at the top sometimes but it goes away when the game starts

cool menace.. I'm gonna try that out.  All the config settings I made makes the game run amazing. except for the mouse in the menu/inventory screens. Do you have a problem with the mouse on those screens?
STEAM PROFILE
GAMER FOR LIFE

Offline «TcS»HB®

  • «TcS» MemberGroup
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Karma: 20
Re: Tweaks
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2011, 11:57:03 PM »
cool menace.. I'm gonna try that out.  All the config settings I made makes the game run amazing. except for the mouse in the menu/inventory screens. Do you have a problem with the mouse on those screens?

i had this very same problem where the mouse didn't respond or was erratic only in menu/inventory.  i installed rage on the other pc so alex could play and didn't have this problem at all.  his pc is running xp though.  also, i was using a death adder with drivers installed and switched to a 518 that i don't have drivers installed for and the problem was much less.  not sure if it's a mouse thing or w7 thing but definitely no issues on xp as death adder drivers and mouse are installed on that pc.

Offline «TcS»Shark®

  • TcS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,453
  • Karma: 136
Re: Tweaks
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2011, 04:24:42 PM »
I am starting to think it is a Logitech mouse problem.  I had the exact same problem with Fallout New Vegas.  I'm gonna look around and see how I fixed it and see if that works for Rage as well.