Poll

Who wants the server to reset for 1.4?

Yes, i think it's a good idea.
4 (66.7%)
No way! I have all this great stuff!
2 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 6

Author Topic: World Reset for 1.4  (Read 1740 times)

Offline Princess

  • Ezekiel11
  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
World Reset for 1.4
« on: October 11, 2012, 08:55:52 PM »
Please Tyshark, don't reset the server, we went through too much grief last time! After all, do we really need withers skeletons? You are probably gonna ban Withers anyways (what a griefing tool) and Witches, well we don't really need them, right? And even so...if you go far enough the new stuff spawns anyways.

Offline healyboys

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: 4
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 10:32:46 PM »
I do agree with eze that there was some griefing last time we updated, but a new world means all those griefed towns that people abandoned will be deleted and more materials such as diamond and iron will spawn back into the world. Also the new things in the update can do a great amount of good and bad for the server wold wise not popularity wise. Personally i want to kill the dragon again and kill the wither once or twice. But in the end it is all up to you tyshark it is your server so you decide.
"Though this be madness, yet there is method in't." - Shakespeare

Offline Rebound84_75

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 09:09:12 AM »
my 2 want not that the map reset after the 1.4 update
so maybe its a better idea to make a new spawn i stad of a new word. like put the spawn 10000 block away from where its now and make a warp to the old spawn
new poeple wil get the new world and the ''old'' poeple stay with there own stuff in there old world and if the wanna move to the new wold they can.

but my 2 want to fight the ender dragon with the poeple on the server and want to kill a wither or 2

-Rebound84_75

Offline «TcS»Shark®

  • TcS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,458
  • Karma: 136
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2012, 05:33:37 PM »
This does give me an idea.. what if I make a new world and keep the existing one as well?  I can make a warp between both worlds.  This way we all get to keep our stuff thta we have worled hard for, and also get to start fresh in a new world at the same time.

Then if the current world (Solara) is used less and less I can eventually delete it if no one is playing on it anymore.

How does that sound?

Offline «TcS»Jefflundy

  • «TcS» MemberGroup
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 1
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2012, 09:29:42 PM »
Could you just copy and paste things from solara to new world? With W/E

Offline jmoney350z

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2012, 10:00:56 PM »
Shark I am really liking that idea. Sounds perfect in my opinion.

Offline Rebound84_75

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2012, 01:01:38 AM »
Shark best idea on the list

But does a second word not make the server lag because that is something i don't want

-Rebound84_75

Offline «TcS»Shark®

  • TcS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,458
  • Karma: 136
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2012, 11:57:00 AM »
I'm not sure about the lag.  That's something we will have to test out.


Offline Rebound84_75

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2012, 01:18:21 PM »
oke but if the old world stay and there is ganna be a new world then the MCMMO stats and the money still ganna be the same right?

Offline healyboys

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: 4
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2012, 06:04:29 PM »
I would like a new world so that idea ty had of having 2 worlds and when the old one is not used anymore it can be deleted. Also i have a comment about my house, i would like it moved so i can start a new town around it when update comes it that is alright. thank you.

"Though this be madness, yet there is method in't." - Shakespeare

Offline «TcS»Jefflundy

  • «TcS» MemberGroup
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 1
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2012, 07:02:57 PM »
I would love if GigaCraft could be copied over, since my house is their.

Offline Rebound84_75

  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2012, 09:49:34 PM »
yea i want to copy piratesbay over because there is all my stuff and there live like 28 people

-Rebound84_75

Offline «TcS»Shark®

  • TcS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,458
  • Karma: 136
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2012, 06:08:56 PM »
Once the update comes out and the new world is started I will slowly start moving things over.  I am limited on time, so it might take a while. 

Also be sure to remember that if you update to 1.4 the day it comes out, you will not be able to play on the server.  It usually takes about a week to 2 weeks for CraftBukkit to release their update.  I think this is the update that Minecraft is releasing a new developer API, so I am not sure if this will make the process take much longer or not.  I think CraftBukkit will be phased out soon and the MC API will be what is used from now on.   I will update this thread with new information, so be sure to watch this thread for updates.

Offline Princess

  • Ezekiel11
  • Minecraft Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2012, 09:02:08 PM »
If the server resets, will i lose all i have in my inventory? let me know, so i can deposit my stuff in my chests. Oh ya and the two worlds thing is an excellent idea!

Offline princekira1

  • Minecraft Player
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: World Reset for 1.4
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2012, 12:18:01 PM »
My town Lorien es Arda takes up -3565,65,622 -3565,65,407 -3300,65,622 -3300,65,622 umm that whole plot please keep it together also with the nether area coresponding to it ty